22 QUESTIONS: Third Year Exchange Students!

What is 22 Questions?

It’s pretty simple. The school wrote down who they wanted to get interviewed, the writers hitched up some questions (22 questions), and the chosen ones got asked those questions.

We also did our best to make these questions range from serious (a.k.a. “getting to know them) to awesome (a.k.a. “putting them on the spot for fun”).

For the first time, we interviewed exchange students!! This year, Third Year Studio has been lucky to welcome FOUR exchange students to our architecture program. So we decided to pair them up and conduct two separate interviews and photo sessions to get us to learn a little more about who they are, their stories that they’ve carried from another country, and the pleasure to have them be part of our architecture family.

SO, LET’S GET STARTED!

First up, we have Kane Macartney-Dunne and Jordan Bails — two mates from Australia.

Jordan Bails (left), Kane Macartney-Dunne (right) Photo by: Sabrina Shen

Jordan Bails (left), Kane Macartney-Dunne (right)
Photo by: Sabrina Shen

Location of Interview: Carleton University, Building 22, at the end of the street by First Year Studio

Time: November 20, 2014 at 12:30NOONTIME

Ok, so this is my first time doing an interview and it’s pretty much all hands on deck with this here. No experience, no interviewing skills, just a bunch of questions in a yogurt cup for the interviewees to take turns and draw out from (not joking). It is time to place our two Australian exchange students into the limelight after taking Third Year Studio up in a storm with their charisma, charm, and ultimately their passion for adventure and architecture.

Anna Leung: So who would like to do the honours and start first? [hands out yogurt container with questions in it]

Kane Macartney-Dunne: Why did you choose Carleton University’s Architecture program? Good question!! Haha! Well, we’ve got a strong partnership with Carleton University. So we’re originally from University of South Australia, and our profs from back home chose for us to go to Carleton University as out first choice because your architecture school at Carleton University is a very strong program. So that’s why we’ve decided to come and put Carleton University as our first preference.

AL: Alright, COOL! [beaming with joy and pride on behalf of Building 22]

Jordan Bails: What are you best known for?

KD: Ahhh…this is a personal question.

JB: What am I best known for? Is this architecture oriented?

AL: Ah yes, could be…it could be what are you best known for in studio? Wearing bright-coloured clothes, that’s for me, you know.

KD: Well, I think Jordan is best known for his model-making skills.

JB: Well, I like a good model; I fancy models.

KD: He’s a perfectionist…that’s what Jordan’s known for. What am I best known for? I’m best known —

JB: Just weird pencil drawings. He just draws weird things —

KD: Yeah, I guess so…

JD: They make no sense to anyone else. But him.

KD: Favourite place in Ottawa. How and when did you find it? Well because of the program, we haven’t really had much time to explore Ottawa. But before university started, we were able to go on a little road trip with a friend of ours to Gatineau Park — and just a quick little story, I swam out quite far, quite deep, and went around a corner and saw this group of French people jumping off a cliff. I decided: why not, let’s just do it. And so I went cliff-jumping with a bunch of French guys. And Jordan didn’t want to come out.

AL: Why not?

JB: Well, I was admiring the scenery around the beach.

AL: Afraid of heights? [I, Anna, am deeply afraid of heights] Or–

KD: He can’t swim.

AL: Ah ok, I see. Fair enough.

JB: One thing in your wishlist / bucket list before leaving Ottawa? Ummm…I actually want to visit Hog’s Back.

AL: It’s actually really nice to run towards Hog’s Back. Just jump over along the Rideau Canal and run over. Quite scenic.

JB: Yeah I haven’t done that and Kane has been there a lot of times. Yeah, that’s mine.

KD: Yeah, I volunteered at Folksfest, so I walked because I didn’t really know the bus transportation system too well that time, so I walked a lot to get around.

KD: If you can live inside the architecture school, where will it be?

JB: Live? There’s a lot of people that do live here!

KD: But I would choose the bridge. That’s a spot worth taking. So I would corner off the bridge and make it my little den.

JB: See while the bridge is good, they fail sometimes with the heating system. So it gets cold. So I reckon I would choose somewhere secluded, somewhere I would lock a fort.

KD: Fishbowl?

JB: Hmm. I would build a fort in the The Hub because I’ll need a microwave.

KD: Yes, that’s a good place, too.

JB: Who is the most interesting person you have met in the architecture program?

AL: Ah, this is putting you on the spot!

JB: I would say Kassa.

KD: Oh yeah, he’s a character.

JB: The dude doesn’t sleep. He’s always here. He pulled an all-nighter like the Sunday night of Reading Week — the end of it…just because. It was pointless…no reason whatsoever.

JB + KD: That kid, I dunno…He’s an interesting character.

KD: Pencils or pens? I…specific to drawing or note-taking?

AL: Ummm…which one would you like to use. [such a “helpful” explanation]

KD: Pens for sure.

JB: What?!?!?! You’re a pencil dude! I like pencils. I can note-take and stuff with pens, but I like the feel of the pencil.

KD: Well, my first prof in my first year said: “You shouldn’t. You shouldn’t have to erase.” That’s why pens are what I prefer.

JB: What can you do in Ottawa that you can’t in your hometown? There’s snow. Have a snowball fight.

KD: Yes!

JB: It was good. People I was throwing snow at didn’t like it because I didn’t actually know them. It was just a bunch of random people. I got so excited cuz I actually haven’t seen snow before. So I was just throwing snow at randoms.

AL: Well, don’t worry. You’ll be seeing snow for a long time!

KD: What is your favourite expression you say all the time? Everyone should know this one. It’s g’day. Just like: how are you?

AL: Oh?? Can you say that again?

KD: It’s g’day. G-apostrophe-D-A-Y.

AL: [Oh ok, I get it!]

KD: What is something you don’t quite understand about Canadian culture? Putting cheese curds on chips (fries) and gravy.

JB: Ah get out of here!! Poutine is the best! Poutine is the best thing in the world!

KD: Why would you put cheese curds into chips? Chips and gravy is enough.

AL: Well, you need that extra kick of fat in it.

JB: Yeah, it’s beautiful.

KD: Chips and gravy are bulky enough.

JB: It is amazing!

KD: That being said though, I’ve had it.

JB: Yeah I forced him to have it.

JB: When you arrive home what will be the first thing you will tell your family / friends about Carleton’s architecture program? I probably tell them that it’s one of the most amazing times ever. It’s awesome.

KD: Yeah, it’s like a big family. Pretty much everyone gets along with everyone.

JB: I wouldn’t have any bad points to say, even though it’s pretty tough. But it’s worth it.

AL: Even I feel like we’re all a big family. [Internally nodding heavily in agreement to their comment]

KD: It’s a good atmosphere.

KD: What is something you do in your hometown that you can’t in Ottawa? Surf. Go to the beach on a 40 degree day. We keep getting Snapchats from friends back home down at the beach. A little homesick, but we post photos of the snow and then they’re jealous. So, it works in our favour.

JB: Other than your laptop / phone, what is your must-have tool that you never go to studio without? My journal.

AL: Your sketchbook? However we call it. Sketchbook. Journal.

JB: Yeah, my sketchbook. I don’t go anywhere without my sketchbook.

AL: Yeah that’s actually one thing I didn’t think about. It’s usually X-actos, Olfa knife…

JB: Sketchbook is like an extension of my arm.

KD: Mind would be my Stanley knife.

KD: What is something you forgot to pack when you arrived in Canada? I had to got to the shop a couple days later to get some shorts.

AL: Your shorts?

KD: Haha! I forgot to pack shorts because I thought it was going to be freezing. It turned out to be really nice temperature when we just arrived. And that’s what I forgot. I remembered everything else: socks, jumpers, everything! Just not shorts.

JB: What is something you would never be caught wearing? I’m a pretty open guy. I wear anything for a laugh. So I dunno. I think I’d probably wear anything.

KD: I wouldn’t wear a Borat swimsuit.

JB: I would. I would totally wear a mankini.

AL: A mankini, in studio?

JB: I’ve worn a lot of weird shit in studio. So mankini, why not.

KD: That’s disturbing. Haha!

KD: What is your favourite food you would recommend to everyone? Haha, definitely not poutine.

JB: Poutine is the best!

KD: No. Um. Canadian food?

AL: Yes.

KD: Ah dunno. This is a really good question. What is Canadian food?

JB: Maple syrup.

KD: I have yet to try real maple syrup.

JB: We had it straight from the tree.

KD: It tasted bad.

AL: Oh haha. Because it had to go through the process.

KD: Yes, the process — I regretted that instantly. But really, I don’t know. I think I”ll have to pass on that one. I think you can answer that question for me. [turns to Jordan]

JB: Poutine.

KD: Name the university and application process to get into the architecture program in your hometown. Oh it was so much easier compared to here!

AL: Really?!

JB: Way easier. Well. You pretty much needed a high score, I would get a high score straight out of high school, so I wouldn’t have to do an extra year as a bridging course at uni. And if you have a high score, you get in. No portfolio. No prerequisites.

KD: Essentially, there are no prerequisites. You study whatever you want in grade 12. And then you get marked out of 99.95. And you get cut-off points —

JB: Around 92.

KD: For me it was an 85.5. So that’s the cut-off point for me. And if you’re below it you can’t get into the program, and if you’re above it, you’re set. There’s no portfolio. So that’s why there’s a lot of people after first year that drop out. Goes from about 100 students to maybe 80 to 75.

JB: And then down to 60.

KD: They don’t know how lucky they have it compared to here.

JB: What was your most embarrassing situation that happened to you in studio / Carleton University campus?

KD: I’m not one to be intimately embarrassed, so this is a hard question.

JB: Very hard question.

KD: What is your most embarrassing situation, Anna?

AL: Oh so this a reverse interview! [Turning the tables over on me!] Umm…geez…Hard question for me as well. Selective memory. Well…actually I do have one from yesterday. [Well you are going to have to ask me personally what my embarrassing situation is.]

JB: I think I know one. So I’m well-known for my love of timbits. And so the ladies at Tim Hortons in the University Centre know me very very well. So I’m not quite sure if it’s a thing to be proud about. It’s pretty embarrassing. I go in there, and they go: “Oh it’s the Australian! How many timbits for today? Do you want a 40-pack?” So yeah, I usually get a 40-pack and it’s usually gone throughout.

KD: What do you think of the Canadian English accent? Personally, I love it. I probably think it’s the best accent. I love the word “tuque.” I’m definitely going to take that back home with me. I think “beanies” is not a really good word. Tuque. I’d much rather tuque.

JB: I love it.

AL: Never thought it was weird or hard to understand?

JB: Some words are quite funny. You say “about” really weird.

AL: About?

JB + KD: “Out” and “about.” Yeah you do. Unconciously. If we were to say “about” and “out” strangely, then you’d say it in a “normal” accent. Then if you unconciously say it; it’s like “a-bout” and “o-ut.” [Canadian style — we know what you mean by that. Canadians always get commented on how we pronounce “out” and “about.” Pretty interesting.]

JB: What is something you got to experience in studio that you haven’t had before?

KD: Well, the first year and second year students got their own space…their own lockers, their own desks, their own working environment. Whereas, we at back home share our studio space with another year. So we have to pack our work, take it home, and bring it back the next day. We can’t leave our stuff out. We’ve got lockers, but some people don’t end up getting lockers. So there’s only a selective amount of people who do get it. So it’s not enough for two years.

JB: At home, since we live at home. We just work at home. I have my own studio at home. So all my computer and work are there. And being in studio all the time is pretty weird.

AL: It is weird. But I mean for here, for a lot of students, it’s kind of a lifestyle.

JB + KD: Yeah, it’s a good weird.

KD: Describe your first day in studio. Awkward. Any moment where you’re a foreigner and you’re walking into somewhere that’s unknown — you don’t know people’s personalities, you don’t know people’s faces. It’s always very awkward because it’s about 70 sets of eyes just looking at you.

AL: And the hardest part is when those 70 sets of eyes — everyone knows each other.

JB: And yeah it’s like: Who are you?

KD: And it’s really awkward, and then sitting down at the first tutorial with our bay, obviously everyone knew everyone else, but me. So I was —

JB: I was petrified.

KD: The first thing that came out of my mouth they were just glued to it like: What?!?! It was an awkward experience.

AL: For us, it was really surprising. Because we didn’t even expect you guys to be here. And then all of a sudden on the very first day of class you guys are all sorted into our bays and when our profs asked us to say our names and introduce ourselves, so then we hear an Australian accent (and for any day, anything other than a Canadian accent will surprise us) — we all go: Who’s this? But how did it come after having to go through the awkwardness?

KD: Oh it was a really smooth transition. Really smooth. Loved every second of it…Actually, even though it was awkward, I enjoyed those situations. Same like in first year, no one knew each other. I knew maybe 2 people because they came from my high school. That was it, out of 200 people. And I met Jordan through a mutual friend of mine from high school. And we became friends really easily.

JB: We’re bros.

Jordan Bails (left), Kane Macartney-Dunne (right)
Photo by: Sabrina Shen

JB: Describe your all-nighter outfit. I got a few. I have a few all-nighter outfits. I got these pajama pants. One has lightbulbs? [Anna failed at catching what Jordan said at this particular moment] all over it. I got another pair of pants which are kind of night-y, like long-johns.

AL: I think I’ve seen it…is it red?

JB: Yeah, it’s red with patterns all over it. Very Christmas-y. I’d wear anything. Anything that can shock people. And also comfy.

KD: I’m not really one to pull all-nighters. So I don’t have an all-nighter outfit yet.

JB: He’s scared.

KD: Well, I like my sleep.

JB: A good sleep.

AL: Sounds goods!! So this is the end of the interview — Thank you so much for doing this!

There we have it. This concludes the first of a two-part interview of our Third Year Exchange Students. It was a gratifying opportunity to interview Kane and Jordan, and hopefully this gave a glimpse of what is like to be an exchange student in Building 22. Of course, this provides us, Building 22 students a chance to build rapport, connections, and lasting friendships with architecture students around the world. And at the same time, allow us to embark on an adventure like what Kane and Jordan did to strengthen international bonds with other students in another part of the world. On behalf of the students and faculty of Building 22, we hope to see you again!

Stay tuned for Part 2 of 22 QUESTIONS: Third Year Exchange Students! Coming up will be another interview of two dear students from France and Turkey!

One response to “22 QUESTIONS: Third Year Exchange Students!

  1. Pingback: 22 QUESTIONS: Third Year Exchange Students — PART 2!! | Blog22·

Leave a Reply

